Misery Index band photo

Misery Index: 20 Years Of Fury

Since the early 2000s, Misery Index have released 6 studio albums and 1 live album, performed over 1200 concerts in 44 countries. Misery Index began as a studio project in 2001, when vocalist and bassist Jason Netherton (ex-DYING FETUS) joined together with guitarist / vocalist Mike Harrison and drummer Kevin Talley (ex-DYING FETUS) to record their debut EP "Overthrow". This five-song death/grind attack received considerable praise in underground circles, shifting Misery Index into a full time project with the addition of Sparky Voyles (ex-DYING FETUS) on guitar.

In 2002, Mike Harrison and Kevin Talley left the band to focus on other projects and the latter was replaced by Matt Byers, who took up drum duties for their first US tour that summer in support of KATAKLYSM. In 2003, Misery Index released their first full-length "Retaliate", to exceptional reviews and numerous tours in Europe and North America supporting bands such as DYING FETUS, AMON AMARTH, DEICIDE, and NILE. In 2004 a video for "The Great Depression" was released, complimenting their first live DVD, which featured a full set recorded in Athens, Greece. Later in 2004, Adam Jarvis (also currently of PIG DESTROYER and SCOUR) took over on drums, just in time for Misery Index to hit such European festivals as Wacken Open Air, Brutal Assault, and Party.San Open Air, followed with more touring alongside bands such as BEHEMOTH, NAPALM DEATH, SUFFOCATION, ROTTEN SOUND, and MAGRUDERGRIND. In 2005, guitarist and vocalist Mark Kloeppel (ex-CAST THE STONE) joined Jason, Adam and Sparky, solidifying the line-up for the next five years.

In 2006, second full-length "Discordia" was unleashed, followed by even more persistent touring with bands such as FEAR FACTORY, DESPISED ICON, JOB FOR A COWBOY, BENEATH THE MASSACRE, NECROPHAGIST and ORIGIN. In 2007, Misery Index appeared on festivals like Hellfest in France and Tuska in Finland, as well as hitting places like Turkey, Bulgaria, Ukraine, Romania and Croatia for the first time. However, despite being on the road for months, Misery Index were ready to finalise their third album, so recordings commenced with Kurt Ballou (CONVERGE) at God City Studios in May of 2008. Later that year "Traitors" was released and the band embarked on their next tour with ORIGIN and ABYSMAL DAWN right as the album was hitting stores. Reactions from both critics and fans were raving and the album showcased an exceptional return to form.

In 2008 and 2009, the band toured extensively, playing with and supporting bands such as THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER, SOILENT GREEN, HATE ETERNAL, THE FACELESS, CANNIBAL CORPSE, PSYCROPTIC and many more, as well as seeing their first trips to places like Mexico, Russia and Iceland, an appearance on the prestigious Extreme the Dojo festivals in Japan, the Maryland Deathfest in Baltimore and European festivals such as Summer Breeze, Party.San, Hellfest, and Death Feast. Entering 2010, the band booked time at Wrightway Studios with producer Steve Wright in their home state of Maryland to commence recording of the fourth album.

Misery Index released "Heirs to Thievery" in May 2010, dropping like a bomb on the Death Metal masses and shattering all expectations. The album was both a commercial and critical success, elevating the band into headlining slots in both Europe and the United States. "Heirs to Thievery" showcased the growing maturity and depth of the band, as the varied songwriting shifted naturally from nuanced, blasting technicality ("Fed to the Wolves"), through pit-inducing groove ("The Carrion Call"), to crushing heaviness ("The 7th Cavalry"). The growth and penetrating hooks of the songs took the band to new levels and was followed by several tours with bands such as GRAVE and AEON in Europe, PSYCROPTIC, ORIGIN, and DECAPITATED in Australia and DESPISED ICON, REVOCATION, JOB FOR A COWBOY, GOATWHORE, and EYEHATEGOD in North America. 2010 also saw the departure of long time guitarist Sparky Voyles, who was replaced by Darin Morris.

Festivals followed in 2011, with Misery Index making appearances at Obscene Extreme, Tuska, With Full Force, Metalfest Open Air and Neurotic Death Fest, as well as seeing their first visit to countries such as Colombia, Thailand, Indonesia, and Malaysia. In 2012, the band made an appearance supporting CANNIBAL CORPSE on their US "Torture" tour, while also joining the Full of Hate festival tour in Europe alongside CANNIBAL CORPSE, BEHEMOTH and LEGION OF THE DAMNED. On the Munich date of the "Full of Hate" tour, the band recorded their first live album. The album was released on numbered, die-cut vinyl and digital download in February 2013

Again recording at Wrightway studios in Baltimore, Misery Index recorded and released "The Killing Gods" in May of 2014 via the French label Season of Mist. The album was their most critically acclaimed and top-selling album to date, and was followed by two videos for the songs "The Calling" and "The Harrowing," as well as two European headlining tours, in the summer of 2014 and the summer of 2016. The band also performed two North American tours, one in 2015 with HATE ETERNAL, RIVERS OF NIHIL and BEYOND CREATION, and one in 2016 with NAPALM DEATH and THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER.

In 2018, the band ventured on a US tour supporting Morbid Angel prior to entering the studio that summer to record their sixth album "Rituals of Power" which was again released on the Season of Mist label. Featuring the singles "New Salem", "Naysayer, "The Choir Invisible" and "Hammering the Nails" the album was the band’s highest charting and best selling release to date. In 2019 the band did an EU headlining tour with support from WORMROT and then a US tour with NAILS in the summer. At this time, they also released the single "Zombie Prescription" (SNAPCASE cover) via New Noise magazine’s flexi series. In February 2020, the band hit the EU again on the month long "Campaign for Musical Destruction" in support of NAPALM DEATH, along with EYEHATEGOD, ROTTEN SOUND and BAT.

In 2020, the band signed a deal with Century Media records, and are currently preparing their seventh album for release in 2022.

Misery Index is Adam Jarvis (drums), Darin Morris (guitar), Jason Netherton (bass, vocals) and Mark Kloeppel (guitar, vocals)